One lousy in-game round while chatting on Discord can quickly become an argument. An argument can lead to a block. Naturally, you will want to know whether or not you have been blocked.
How can you tell if someone has blocked you on Discord?
To find out, we have tested all the possible fixes and can explain how to interpret the signs that suggest you have been blocked.
In this article, we will explain those signs to help determine whether you have been blocked.
Let’s get started!
Table of ContentsShow
Method 1: Send Them A Message
The quickest way to check if someone has blocked your account is by sending them a message. How does this help? Well, it’s simple.
When a user blocks you, Discord prevents your message from reaching the recipient, and you will see a notification informing you of this.
Keep in mind that the notification offers several possible reasons why the message is not sending, so don’t immediately assume that you have been blocked.
We performed a test with two different Discord accounts. Here is what messaging a user looks like when they have blocked you:
As you can see in the image above, Discord’s Clyde bot immediately responds that the recipient won’t accept your message. Again, this could simply be because the user has disabled allow direct messages from server members.
Method 2: Send A Friend Request
As the previous method does not definitively confirm whether or not you are blocked, it’s best to perform a couple more checks to be sure.
The next thing you should try is sending the user a friend request.
To do that, go into the shared server, expand the member list, right-click on the user’s name, and select Profile.
Once you have their profile open, click Send Friend Request.
Under normal circumstances, Discord will send the request without any issues. However, when the recipient has blocked you, Discord will instead show an error.
The error reports that you may have misspelled the name, but that won’t be the case as you clicked on their profile to send the request.
Method 3: Empty Profile Bio
The last sign that you might have been blocked is if the person’s About Me section is empty. However, it is also possible that the user has simply not added anything to the bio page.
If you are sure that they previously had a bio and you can no longer see it, that is a sign that you may have been blocked.
You can check that by entering a mutual server, finding the user in the member list, right-clicking their name, and selecting Profile.
The About Me information should be under User Info.
In the end, there is no definitive way to tell whether or not someone has blocked you. Even so, if each of the tests in this article produces negative results, the chances that you have been blocked are pretty high.
Unfortunately, there is no way you can directly message the user to ask to unblock you. However, you could always contact another member on the server and ask them to talk for you.
We recommend leaving the block as it is. Whether or not you did something wrong is their decision, and you should respect it.