How To Delete Discord Messages

Deleting messages on Discord is super easy. Here is a guide on how to delete Discord messages, with screenshots included to help you out.

Discord is a leading chat platform where you can easily bring thousands of people together. Its voice channels can accommodate up to 5,000 users, while an infinite number of people can communicate in text channels. Discord is undoubtedly one of the best platforms for building online communities.

However, a text channel with thousands of users messaging at the same time can quickly become cluttered and messy.

Luckily, erasing messages on Discord is effortless. Here’s the procedure.

Table of ContentsShow

Deleting Messages Manually

There are two ways to get rid of messages on Discord: with the assistance of a bot or manually. We’ll explore the manual methods first.

Method 1 – Removing One Message

Open Discord, join your server, and choose a text channel. Once in the channel, move your mouse over any message, and a group of icons will show up on the right side. Tap on “More” (the three dots) and then select “Delete Message”. You will need to confirm your choice. This works well for removing one message, but can be tiresome if you have to delete multiple messages. To make it faster, hold down shift to instantly show the delete message option (the tiny red trashcan icon) and skip the confirmation prompt.

Method 2 – Cloning Text Channel

Deleting a few messages with the first method is easy, but having to delete dozens or hundreds of messages is next to impossible. It is also a waste of your time.

Fortunately, there is an option on Discord to get rid of all the messages in a text channel.

Open Discord and right-click a text channel, then select Clone Channel. This will create an identical copy of the text channel. Everything, including names, roles, users, etc., will be copied to the new channel. However, messages won’t be transferred.

Discord Clone Channel

After the cloning process, you can delete the old text channel and all of the messages with it.

Keep in mind that you should only use this method if you want to delete every message in a text channel. There is no way to recover them after deleting the channel.

Deleting Messages With A Bot

If you would prefer another method, there’s a great alternative. You can use a bot to delete the messages for you, which is much quicker and easier!

However, you first need to add the bot to your server. This is how you can accomplish that:

  1. Choose a bot that has message purge commands (we used MEE6).
  2. Visit the official bot website and select Add to Discord.
  3. This will open a prompt where you need to select your server. Click Authorize.

After completing these simple steps, MEE6 (or any other bot you’ve chosen) will be part of your Discord server.

With the bot active, enter a text channel and type !clear 100. This command will delete the previous 100 messages in the channel. You can enter any number to delete that many messages.

Discord MEE6 Bot Purge Bot

Keep in mind that this is a command for MEE6. The command will likely be different for other bots. It is usually one of these three: purge, clean, or clear. To discover which command you need, you can type !help for a complete list.

Related Reads

How To Give Someone Admin Access On Discord
How To Give Someone Admin Access On Discord
Branko Gapo

Keeping up with the incredibly fast evolution of computer technology is impossible. Branko aims to use his knowledge on this matter to share news and information on all the latest essential technological innovations and advancements.