How To Add Roles In Discord

Every good Discord server needs proper user rules. Here is a simple guide on how to add roles in Discord, including descriptions of each permission.

Schools, businesses, gamers, and many gaming communities prefer to use Discord over other VoIP platforms because of its friendly UI, reliable servers, and especially because of one very unique feature—the ability for server admins/owners to assign customized roles to members.

If you hope to create a public server or build a community, you must utilize this very useful feature.

But, with so many different settings related to this feature, it might be a bit complicated at first.

Because of this, we have made a quick guide to help you add and assign roles in Discord.

Adding Roles

Start adding new roles on your Discord server by heading over to Server Settings. To get to Server Settings, right-click your server’s logo on the left.

Once you get into settings, head on over to the Roles tab. Here, you will see tons of different settings- don’t worry! We will go through each one later, but first, let’s see how you can add a new role.

Despite this being one of Discord’s most famous features, it’s not exactly intuitive to use, but it’s easy to get the hang of it! To add a new role, you will need to press on that small plus icon.

Customizing Discord Roles

Now, once you’ve successfully added a new role, it is time to customize it. Here’s what the individual options do:

General Settings And Permissions

  • Role Name – self-explanatory. Add names to your roles to easily distinguish them when assigning them. Also, easier for members in your server to distinguish different roles such as mods, admins, owners, etc.
  • Color – Adds a color to go along with the name. It also helps distinguish different types of members in a server.
  • View Server As Role – This can be useful while customizing a role, allowing you to view your server through that role. If you see anything that you don’t like, you can continue reworking it.
  • Display role members separately from online members – A handy setting that should be enabled most of the time. This separates the roles one from another on the member list. Make sure it is enabled for you, admins, or other members of your staff.
  • Allow Anyone to @mention this role – @mention is a command that pings certain users. If you don’t want people spamming you with notifications, disable it for your role.
  • View Channels – Should be left enabled unless you don’t want a particular role to see text or voice channels.
  • Manage Channels – This provides members with the ability to delete, create and edit channels. This should be enabled only for your moderation staff.
  • Manage Roles – Permission to delete, create or edit roles. Most definitely disabled for the average user and only enabled for those you trust.
  • Manage Emojis – Allows users to delete or add new emojis to the server. Not particularly important.
  • View Audit Log – Useful for you or other admins to see what kind of server changes your mods have made. A log of added, kicked, and banned members. Added or removed bots. Name changes, region change, deleted messages, etc.
  • Manage Server – Users with this role can add bots to a server, switch voice channel regions and even change the server’s name.

Text Channel Permissions

  • Send Messages, Embed Links, Attach Files, Add Reactions – Self-explanatory. These should be left enabled for most roles because they provide the most basic type of communication.
  • Use External Emoji – Specifically for users with Nitro purchased, allowing them to use emojis from different servers.
  • Mention @everyone, @here, and All Roles – Permission for users to ping everyone on the server or members of a certain channel. Recommended left disabled for basic members. Enabled for mods, admins, etc.
  • Manage Messages – Obviously, disabled for most members
  • Read Message History – Allows members to access all of the previous messages sent in text channels. If you leave this disabled, new members won’t have access to the messages before they joined the server or channel
  • Send Text-to-Speech Messages – Useful for admins and mods to send announcements, but should be off for all other users. It can get annoying if everyone starts spamming text-to-speech
  • Use Slash Commands – Should be left enabled. It provides members with an option to send gifs from Giphy and Tenor, spoiler text, and change their nickname.

Voice Channel Permissions

  • Connect, Speak – Permission for members to connect and speak in voice channels. If Speak is disabled, every user that enters a voice channel will be automatically muted by the server. Only those with admin privileges will be able to unmute them.
  • Video – The ability to screen share, stream games, and also stream camera.
  • Use Voice Activity – This can be disabled if you want to reduce background noise as much as possible. This forces users to use the push-to-talk
  • Priority Speaker – Enable it for mods/admins. This gives audio priority to a certain user, making them louder and clearer when they speak.
  • Mute/Deafen/Move Members – The privilege to mute, deafen or move other members. Enabled only for server staff

Advanced Permissions

  • Administrator – This bypasses all of the other permissions, allowing a user to have full control over your server. Be very careful with this permission.

Finally, you have the option to Clear Role Permissions. This resets all of the permissions above to defaults.

If you can’t seem to figure out which permissions should be used for certain roles, consider checking out our excellent guide on creating a good Discord server.

How To Assign Roles In Discord

Once you have finally customized all of the roles on the server, it is time to assign them.

Head on over to your server and click on the icon on the top right of your screen. This will open the member list.

Once the member list is opened, right-click a certain user, hover over roles, and select which one you want to assign.

You can add and remove roles on a user any time you want. Also, you can assign multiple roles to one user.

Deleting Roles

If you want to delete a certain role, you will have to head back to Server Settings and the Roles tab.

From here, hover over a certain role and click on the three dots to expand a dropdown menu. On this menu, you will see the option to delete a role.

With a thorough understanding of all the settings for customizing roles, how to assign and delete them, you will now finally be able to create a solid Discord experience for the members of your server.

Related Reads

How To Leave A Discord Server
Branko Gapo

Keeping up with the incredibly fast evolution of computer technology is impossible. Branko aims to use his knowledge on this matter to share news and information on all the latest essential technological innovations and advancements.