If you no longer want to stream on Twitch, you can temporarily disable or permanently delete your account.
The process is straightforward and doesn’t require much time, but there are still some things you should know before deleting your account.
In this article, we will explain everything you need to know.
Table of ContentsShow
Disabling Your Twitch Account
Disabling your account is a good option when you want to take a break from streaming but still want the possibility to return in the future. We recommend this option if you are unsure that you’re done with Twitch for good.
Here’s how to disable your Twitch Account:
- Open Twitch in your preferred browser and sign in to your account.
- In the top-right corner, you will see your profile icon. Click it and choose Settings from the menu.
- In the panel that opens, scroll down until you see the account deactivation panel. Click Disable Account to begin the process.
- After clicking the link, you will need to confirm the action in a separate window. You can also provide a reason as feedback to Twitch on why you decided to deactivate your account, but this is optional.
Once you’ve done this, your Twitch account will be disabled indefinitely. If you ever log back into it, you will be asked if you want to reactivate it.
Deleting Your Twitch Account
If you want to permanently erase your account from Twitch, you can do it here.
Note: Clicking the link above won’t immediately delete your account. Instead, it will open a panel like the one shown in the image below.
Confirm your decision by choosing the account you want to delete and clicking the button below. You can leave feedback but this is again optional.
The owner of the account will receive an e-mail notification about the deletion.
Things To Do Before Deleting Your Account
If you stream on Twitch and have an audience, it’s best to let them know what’s going on before disappearing from the platform.
If you plan to create a new account after deleting this one, tell them how they can follow you once you start streaming again.
Make sure to cancel any subscriptions and notify your viewers ahead of time so that they don’t spend their money subscribing to a channel that will soon be deleted from the platform.
It’s often sad to see users leave Twitch. If that’s what you decide to do, the process is simple and can be completed quickly. With just the press of a few buttons, you can disable or permanently erase your Twitch account.